Sunday, 29 June 2014

Losing Weight

I am currently on a very long and hard journey to losing weight. This is entirely for myself and to make myself more confident, however it is also to ensure that I am as healthy as I can be for when I do have my kidney transplant.

I have tried so many times to lose weight, however my steroid tablets, which suppress my immune system make it very difficult as they also make you hungry and cause you to retain water. When I first had to start taking them I went up a whole dress size in the space of a week from fluid retention, which caused me to also have stretch marks on my stomach. I have always struggled with my weight, but in the last year it has been especially difficult because of my medication. Because of my tablets, I am currently between a UK size 14/16 and weigh around 13 stone 11, with a BMI of 30.3. Ideally, I would like to be about 10 stone 5, which would give me a BMI of 22.7.

I have decided to follow the Slimming World plan without going to any of the classes and doing it all from home, as my mum has been doing Slimming World since August last year and has lost 4 and a half stone which is just amazing. I won't be going to the classes because there are some things I am not allowed to eat because it contains high levels of things I'm not allowed much of, such as wholemeal bread. 

I will also be exercising with my exercise hula hoop for 40 minutes a day, I will be doing squats, going for walks every evening (when possible because of shifts), going for bike rides and doing sit ups.

Normally I give up after a few days, even though following this plan I have seen some incredible results straightaway, I just lose motivation even though it is exactly what I should be doing to keep myself well enough for a transplant. Having the job I have also doesn't help, as I have put on at least 2 stone just from working there for 3 years, because you're surrounded by food all day.

However, I am really going to give it a go this time and I will be doing weekly updates on my progress on here (hopefully) to help keep me motivated. I'm excited now just thinking about it and I really want to go and do some exercise right now, however it's 11:40 pm as I write this and everyone in my house is asleep so I'd better save it all for morning!

Friday, 27 June 2014

Catch Up & Getting To Know You Tag

I haven't written on my blog since February as I've been so busy and tired because of work. However, I am going to try my very hardest to get into writing on here as often as possible as I do enjoy it, even if it is only for me really. I'm now on the kidney transplant list and I have been since April, and my mum is nearly at the end of the work up to become a donor, and my boyfriend has moved in with me until he can get his own place as he's just started a job in Nottingham. 

Today, as my blog isn't letting me upload the pictures I want to for my June favourites, (I'll try again later) I decided to do the 'getting to know you' tag I've seen floating around on the internet.

1) Do you have any pets? What are their names?
I have two pet rabbits, called Socks and Cabbage, and they both think their dogs.
2) 3 things that are physically close to you?
-My laptop
-My phone
-My bed
3) What is the weather like?
It was raining earlier but it's hot and boring now (and night time)
4) Do you drive? Have you ever crashed?
 I do drive, I have been driving since October 2013 and I have not crashed *touch wood*
5) What time did you wake up today?
Today I had to wake up at 5:30 (why am I still awake? It's 11:15pm)
6) When did you last shower?
I last showered this morning before work, but I had a bath about an hour ago
7) What was the last movie you watched?
The last movie I watched was probably Despicable Me or Despicable Me 2
18) What is the last text you received?
 "Not happy at all :(" from my friend, ranting about something to do with work.
9) What is your ringtone?
Not entirely sure, I always have my phone on vibrate because noise annoys me.
10) Ever been to a different country?
I've been to Greece, Spain and France (adventurous I know)
11) Do you like sushi?
I've never tried it, I'm a vegetarian
12) Where do you buy your groceries?
Either Tesco or Asda usually
13) Have you ever taken medication to help you sleep?
Yes if extra strong painkillers after an operation count?
14) How many siblings do you have?
I have one younger sister who is 16 and an older stepsister who is 23
15) Laptop or desktop?
Laptop
16) Age on next birthday?
My birthday is actually on Tuesday (1st July) and I'm so excited and I'll be 20
17) Do you colour your hair?
I do indeed. It's very boring at the minute but I've pretty much been every colour ever
18) What are your plans for today?
Today is almost over, but my plans for tomorrow are to wake up and go into Nottingham and buy a dress for the day because I've got family coming round in the afternoon to celebrate my birthday. I'm supposed to be having a Despicable Me birthday cake *fingers crossed*
19) Last time you cried?
I can't remember but today was pretty manic at work I think everyone wanted to!
20) Perfect pizza topping?
I'm boring so just good old cheese and tomato with a garlic mayo or three
21) Ham or cheeseburgers?
Neither, vegetarian
22) Ever had an all nighter?
On a few occasions. Once when I was 15, me and my best friend at the time snuck out of her conservatory at midnight and went to the party across the road from her house, and returned just before her mum got up for work at half 6. When I got home I slept for 15 hours straight. I did make some amazing friends that night though who I'm still close with today
23) What is your eyecolour?
My eyecolour changes from hazel to dark brown to green depending on the light and the time of year
24) Can you taste the difference between pepsi and coke?
I used to be able to, I used to absolutely hate pepsi and coke was my favourite drink ever, but unfortunately I'm not allowed to drink it anymore!